Pi AI Alternative: Apps Like Pi and What Each One Is Built For
What are good apps like Pi AI if I want goals, a journal, or more support than a chat?
Pi is still operating as of October 3, 2026. This page covers apps like Pi for people who want goals, journaling with history, or mental-health self-care tools, or who have run into usage limits: ChatGPT, Claude, Wysa, Earkick, Rosebud, Reflection and IX Coach, which is AI coaching, not therapy and not a crisis service.
Pi, the personal AI from Inflection AI, is still operating as of October 3, 2026: inflection.ai still carries a "Try Pi" button, and the iPhone app was updated on September 29, 2026. Someone searching for a Pi alternative is usually not replacing something that disappeared. They like how Pi talks and want one more thing from it, or they have run into usage limits and want to know what else exists.
This page is written by the team behind IX Coach, an AI coaching app that appears as one row in the comparison below. IX Coach is AI coaching, not therapy and not a crisis service. It is placed last in the table on purpose: for open-ended, warm, free conversation, Pi and the general-purpose assistants are closer to what Pi does. Every price and claim about another product here was checked on October 3, 2026, and the sources are listed under Research.
What Pi is, and where it genuinely wins
Inflection describes Pi as a personal intelligence partner that is empathetic, human-centered and contextually aware. Its App Store text says it is for people who want to explore ideas, talk through a difficult topic, or have someone listen. The iPhone app is free to download and carries a 4.39 average from 2,472 US ratings (App Store, October 3, 2026; the count moves daily). On July 21, 2026, Inflection announced Inflection AI Labs and its first experiment, Pi Journeys, which it says helps people navigate different life phases.
Where Pi wins is plain: it is free to download and built for warm, open conversation, and if that is all you want, nothing below is a reason to leave.
Pi usage limits: what is known and what is not
If you have run into usage limits, this page cannot give you the current numbers. TechCrunch reported on August 26, 2024 that Inflection would cap free access to Pi "in the coming months," with the exact limits still being decided. That is a secondary source and more than two years old. Pi's own site, pi.ai, returned an access block (HTTP 403) to our automated check on October 3, 2026, so we could not read a current limit from it, and we found no primary page that states one. We also could not confirm whether Pi has a paid tier today. What the app shows you when you reach a limit is the current answer.
Three things people look for after Pi
A coach that works toward something with you. A conversation partner answers what you say; a coach holds a goal across weeks and asks how last week went. The Pi pages we could read describe a conversation partner and, since July 2026, an experiment for life phases. They do not describe a goal plan or session history. That is a statement about those pages, not about what the app can do, which we could not test from outside.
A journal with history. Journaling apps keep what you write and respond to it over time. Rosebud and Reflection are the two in the table below.
Support with a clinical shape. Some apps are built as mental-health self-care tools rather than open chat. Wysa and Earkick are the two here. Wysa says in its own words that it is not recommended for crisis situations, and Earkick's listing tells people in a crisis to seek medical help.
Explore: journaling for clarity · goal setting theory
Apps like Pi, compared
Rows run from nearest to Pi's open conversation to most structured. Prices are US prices from each product's own pages.
| Option | What it is | Cost to start (checked 2026-10-03) | Best for | Not built for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT or Claude | General-purpose AI assistants (OpenAI, Anthropic) for open-ended conversation on any topic | ChatGPT: free tier, Go $8/month, Plus $20/month. Claude: free tier, Pro $20/month or $17/month billed annually ($200 up front). Free-tier limits not checked. | Open-ended talk about anything, plus writing and research, without a subscription | A product designed for coaching or mental health; we found no therapy or crisis statement from either company |
| Wysa | AI chatbot with a library of self-help tools inside the conversation | Chatbot free. US App Store text lists Premium at $99.99/year and Premium Plus (adds a human coach) at $99.99/month; the same listing shows other price points. | Structured self-help tools in a chat, with free access to the core chatbot | Crisis situations or severe and enduring mental health problems (Wysa's own wording); not a substitute for professional care |
| Earkick | Self-care chat app; US listing "Earkick - Self Care AI Coach" from Elomia Health, Inc. | Free trial, then a monthly or yearly subscription per its App Store text; the list shows $14.99 monthly among mixed tiers. Its site tagline says free, which we could not reconcile. | Self-care conversations on a phone, with a trial before paying | Crisis; its listing tells people in a crisis to seek medical help |
| Rosebud | AI journal that responds to what you write, with a memory system per its help center | Bloom $12.99/month or $107.99/year, with a free trial (length not stated). Help center says the free plan was retired 2026-09-30; homepage still says free to use. | Journaling with an AI that responds, with entries you can export | Therapy or crisis care; its App Store text says it is not a substitute for therapy |
| Reflection | AI journal with daily prompts and an AI Coach (Journal Better Inc.) | Free plan includes the AI Coach. Premium $8/month, or $5.75/month billed annually, with a 7-day trial. | A free journal with an AI coach built in | Therapy or crisis care; we found no therapy or crisis statement on its pages, so do not assume either |
| IX Coach | AI coaching app; sessions carry what you told it across sessions and draw on 20+ evidence-based modalities | 7-day free trial (card required up front), then $40/month. Free accounts can preview. | Working toward a specific goal over weeks with a coach that remembers earlier sessions | Therapy, diagnosis or crisis care; a free-forever tool, since the trial needs a card |
Prices change and were checked on 2026-10-03; none of these is a substitute for a licensed professional.
Where each option fits what Pi gave you
For the same open-ended talk, ChatGPT and Claude are the nearest in format. Both have a free tier, ChatGPT's paid plans start at $8 a month (Go), and Claude Pro is $20 a month. We did not capture free-tier message limits for either, so the limit question that sent you here may exist there too.
Wysa's FAQ says talking to its AI is free, including tools offered within conversations, with a premium version at cost. Earkick's App Store text describes a free trial followed by a subscription. Wysa's FAQ says it is not recommended for crisis situations, and Earkick's listing points people in a crisis to doctors.
Rosebud's help center says its free plan was retired effective September 30, 2026, citing the cost of a new memory system, and that entries are kept and exportable. Its homepage still said "free to use" on October 3, and we could not resolve which one describes what a new user gets. Reflection lists a free plan that includes its AI Coach and says entries are never used to train AI models, including on the free plan. For a free journal with an AI coach built in, Reflection's free plan wins on price.
Explore: structured reflection
What IX Coach is, and what it is not
IX Coach is AI coaching. It is not therapy, it does not diagnose, and it is not a crisis service. Its homepage describes personalized coaching using 20+ evidence-based modalities, with memory-aware sessions. The checkable difference from a conversation-first app is structural: it carries what you told it from one session to the next, and its library of methods is published as concept pages anyone can read without an account, for example motivational interviewing and the GROW model.
It is a paid product: a 7-day free trial that asks for a card up front, then $40 a month, and canceling before day 7 costs nothing. Free accounts can preview the experience. If you want a free tool, or only want to talk, it is the wrong fit; it is designed for working toward a goal across weeks.
Explore: motivational interviewing · the grow model · accountability partners
If What You Need Right Now Is Crisis Support
Nothing on this page, IX Coach included, is crisis care or a substitute for a licensed professional. If you are in a mental health emergency, or having thoughts of suicide or self-harm, call or text 988 for the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline (available 24/7), text HOME to 741741 for the Crisis Text Line, or call 911 if you or someone else is in immediate danger. These are free, and none of them requires choosing an app first.
Is Pi still available?
Yes, as of October 3, 2026. inflection.ai still offers Pi with a "Try Pi" button, and the iPhone app was updated on September 29, 2026. We could not read pi.ai itself, which blocked our automated check.
What are Pi's usage limits?
We could not verify them. TechCrunch reported in August 2024 that caps were coming and the limits were not yet set; we found no primary page that states current numbers. If you reach one, the message in the app states it.
Is there a free app like Pi?
Pi is free to download. ChatGPT and Claude both have free tiers, Wysa's chatbot is free, and Reflection has a free plan that includes its AI Coach. Rosebud's help center says its free plan was retired on September 30, 2026. IX Coach's free accounts preview the experience; ongoing use is paid after a 7-day trial that needs a card.
Is an AI coach the same as a conversation app like Pi?
They are built around different things. A conversation app is designed around the conversation itself; a coach is designed around a goal that continues from one session to the next. Neither replaces a licensed professional.
Frequently asked questions
What are good apps like Pi AI if I want goals, a journal, or more support than a chat?
Pi is still operating as of October 3, 2026. This page covers apps like Pi for people who want goals, journaling with history, or mental-health self-care tools, or who have run into usage limits: ChatGPT, Claude, Wysa, Earkick, Rosebud, Reflection and IX Coach, which is AI coaching, not therapy and not a crisis service.
Is Pi still available?
Yes, as of October 3, 2026. inflection.ai still offers Pi with a "Try Pi" button, and the iPhone app was updated on September 29, 2026. We could not read pi.ai itself, which blocked our automated check.
What are Pi's usage limits?
We could not verify them. TechCrunch reported in August 2024 that caps were coming and the limits were not yet set; we found no primary page that states current numbers. If you reach one, the message in the app states it.
Is there a free app like Pi?
Pi is free to download. ChatGPT and Claude both have free tiers, Wysa's chatbot is free, and Reflection has a free plan that includes its AI Coach. Rosebud's help center says its free plan was retired on September 30, 2026. IX Coach's free accounts preview the experience; ongoing use is paid after a 7-day trial that needs a card.
Is an AI coach the same as a conversation app like Pi?
They are built around different things. A conversation app is designed around the conversation itself; a coach is designed around a goal that continues from one session to the next. Neither replaces a licensed professional.
Research
- Inflection AI, (2026), Meet Pi (company homepage), inflection.ai — Primary source that Inflection still markets Pi with a "Try Pi" button and describes it as a personal intelligence partner that is empathetic, human-centered and contextually aware.
- Apple, (2026), Pi, your personal AI - App Store catalog lookup (US), itunes.apple.com — Primary source for the 2026-09-29 app update, the free price, the 4.39 average from 2,472 ratings (counts drift between calls), and the description text about exploring ideas, talking through a difficult topic, or having someone listen.
- Inflection AI, (2026), Inflection AI is shaping the future of personal intelligence, inflection.ai/blog — Primary source for the 2026-07-21 announcement of Inflection AI Labs and its first experiment, Pi Journeys.
- Maxwell Zeff, (2024), Five months after Microsoft hired its founders, Inflection adds usage caps to Pi, TechCrunch — Secondary source (press), dated 2024-08-26: says caps on free access were coming and exact limits were not yet determined. It is not evidence of what the limits are today.
- Inflection AI, (2026), Pi web app (access check), pi.ai — This entry records why the page states none.
- OpenAI, (2026), ChatGPT plans and pricing, learn.chatgpt.com — Primary source for ChatGPT Free ($0), Go ($8) and Plus ($20) per month; free-tier message limits were not captured.
- Anthropic, (2026), Claude pricing, claude.com — Primary source for Claude Free ($0) and Pro ($20 monthly, or $17/month with the annual discount, $200 billed up front); free-tier limits were not captured.
- Wysa, (2026), Wysa FAQ, wysa.com — Primary source that talking to Wysa AI is free including in-conversation tools, that premium is offered at cost, and that it is not a substitute for professional medical advice and not recommended for crisis situations.
- Apple, (2026), Wysa: Mental Wellbeing AI - App Store catalog lookup (US), itunes.apple.com — Source for the US listing text naming Premium Plus at $99.99/month (coach plus tools) and Premium at $99.99/year. The same listing shows other price points, which we did not resolve.
- Apple, (2026), Earkick - Self Care AI Coach - App Store catalog lookup (US), itunes.apple.com — Source for the publisher (Elomia Health, Inc.), the free trial followed by a monthly or yearly subscription, and the text telling people in a crisis to reach out to doctors and seek medical advice.
- Apple, (2026), Earkick - App Store in-app purchase list (US), apps.apple.com — Source for the Premium (Monthly) $14.99 entry among mixed legacy tiers.
- Earkick, (2026), Earkick blog (site tagline), blog.earkick.com — The site tagline calls the chat free; this conflicts with the App Store text about a free trial then a subscription, and the conflict is reported rather than resolved.
- Rosebud, (2026), Changes to the free plan, help.rosebud.app — Primary source that the free plan was retired effective 2026-09-30, the stated reason (a memory system that costs more to run), and that entries are kept and exportable.
- Rosebud, (2026), Rosebud pricing, rosebud.app — Primary source for Bloom at $12.99/month and $107.99/year with a free trial (length not stated).
- Rosebud, (2026), Rosebud homepage, rosebud.app — The homepage still says Rosebud is free to use on 2026-10-03, which conflicts with the help-center notice; both are reported.
- Apple, (2026), Rosebud: AI Journal & Diary - App Store catalog lookup (US), itunes.apple.com — Source for Rosebud's own App Store statement that it is not a substitute for professional mental health care or therapy.
- Reflection, (2026), Reflection Premium, reflection.app — Primary source for the free plan, Premium at $8/month or $5.75/month billed annually, and the 7-day free trial.
- Reflection, (2026), Reflection homepage and FAQ, reflection.app — Primary source that the free version includes the AI Coach and that entries are never used to train AI models, even on the free plan. No therapy or crisis statement was found.
- IX Coach, (2026), IX Coach pricing, ixcoach.com/pricing — Primary source (the publisher's own page) for the 7-day free trial, $40/month, the card requirement, free accounts previewing the experience, and memory across sessions.
- IX Coach, (2026), IX Coach homepage, ixcoach.com — Primary source (the publisher's own page) for the description of 20+ evidence-based modalities and memory-aware sessions.
Practice this with IX Coach
Keep reading
- AI Coach vs. Support Group: What Each One Is Actually Built to Do
Should I use an AI coach or join a support group?
- Noom vs. a Life Coaching App: What Each One Is Actually Built to Do
Is Noom the same thing as a life coaching app?
- Relationship Coach vs. Couples App: What Each One Actually Does
Should we hire a relationship coach or use a couples app like Paired?
- Best Coaching App for Founders 2026: What Each One Actually Requires
What is the best coaching app for founders?
- Life Coach in South Brunswick, New Jersey: What to Look For and How to Evaluate One
Is there a life coach in South Brunswick, New Jersey, and how do you find a good one?
- Life Coach in Pasadena, California: What to Look For and How to Evaluate One
Is there a life coach in Pasadena, California, and how do you find a good one?
- Rosebud Alternative: What to Use After the Free Plan Ended
What is a good alternative to Rosebud now that its free plan has ended?
- Woebot Alternative 2026: What You Can Still Use After Woebot Closed
What is a good Woebot alternative in 2026?